Day 4 – It’s all about the Liquids Baby


Day Four – Liquid will flow

Fact : Beer tastes better when you’ve done yoga.
Fact : Most lists sound better when there are at least four items.
Fact : Adult elephants cannot jump. Baby elephants can, but only when provoked.
Fact : The internet is filled with information that may or may not be useful for my blog.

Hydration. Wow. I’ve never really appreciated the amount of liquid that I could consume in one sitting. After yesterdays session, I had 1.5 liters of coconut water, 1 L of filtered water, and one pint of beer. They all tasted amazing. There is something about dehydration that engages the sense of taste so you will drink more of something. I’ve looked into it, and it does exist. It’s a natural survival trait in humans.

But there is very good reason for drinking that much and not having to urinate. The amount of sweat is phenomenol. I don’t think I’ve ever sweat as much as I have in my entire life. But now, I’m beginning to get used to it. I am not enjoying the dried sweat, but being sweaty and slippery, and hot? Oh yeah, I’m getting into it.

But the single beer I had yesterday afternoon? It was as if the angels had decided to applaud every hop and malt in the Paddock Wood 606. I savoured all of it, sip by sip, and as the malty tones came out when it warmed up, my thirst was not quenched.

Now, I don’t recommend you drinking a dehydrant after hot yoga. But for those who have enjoyed craft beer, for those who have cracked open that wobbly pop after the playing sports with the team, for those who have spent that extra mile in the car with no air conditioning on the hot day. Do have that one drink. Just remember, you are already dehydrated as it is, the hangover will come doubly fast as you are dehydrated.

As for the practice, yesterday and today. Not stiff, sore, but not stiff! Which is a good sign, apparently. Things are loosening up. Which is really good. I’ve identified and located a couple more spots that need working on.

Blame it on too many years driving a desk.

Previous injury list? Left ankle and what little part of arch I have on my left foot, cramps up, when sitting down on that area. Can’t handle the pressure on that. Shoulders are still waaay too tight for Locust pose. Put my hands under my thighs, and a dagger of bright pain shot across my right shoulder. Maybe at the end of 30 days that will come in. Lower back and abs aching, previous injury? No, just lack of exercise, and bad genetics. I’m not hoping to get a six pack when I’m done, just hoping closer to a tall boy. Loose some of that love handle. Maybe a little more core strength.

Big one today. Nailed standing bow pose, and didn’t fall over. Which was weird as I fell out during Tree.

Day Five tomorrow. I’m hoping to get a couple of ‘softer classes’, grab a flow when I get my stamina up some more. A Yin class to really stretch out, and plan to have that epsom salt soak.

No writing beyond this blog done. Had a couple of ideas though, as always that creative writing wheel in my head still keeps spinning.

And when you see ‘those’ people with their yoga mats, in their tights, going from place to place. They aren’t following a fad. Look at it this way.

They aren’t succeeding no matter how badly they practice yoga. They are succeeding because they are doing it.

The worst thing you can do, is stop in hesitation, in fear, and let that rule over you. So if you failed, you were doing 100 percent more than the person who didn’t even attempt it.

I’m still here,
Pearce

Leave a Reply

