Why a Paper Hat


So what is a paper hat pirate anyways?

The role of the pirate has appealed to those who don’t follow the law. Whether it be Yarr! or by the misappropriation of electronic data… They set their own set of rules.

When I was younger, the realms of imagination were wide and far open to me. Being an only child, I had the stories I made up to keep me company and occupied. That and books. And comic books. I could make stories up on the fly, tall tales of deeds imagined.

As always, when one grows older, childish things and habits get set aside in order to mature. This is natural for any development. But from what I’ve learned from the best writers, they somehow have been able to keep their imagination going for the longest of times. Strengthening it as opposed to abandoning it altogether.

I’ve been haunted sometimes by stories and characters, they continually keep come back. When I wasn’t writing, I substituted into tabletop roleplaying games. Those become just another outlet for the creative writing process, just interactive with other people. Online roleplaying seemed to be the next outlet once the D&D group called it quits. Even so, MMO games for storytelling seemed to be the wrong media. Everything in it becomes fan fiction.

Now, looking back, this is the best form.

Text. Just words on a screen, or paper.

I’m trying to get back to those expansive imaginations of my youth, as well as flexing my growing skills as a story-teller.

So why a paper hat? It goes back to the days where one could fold up a newspaper and suddenly turn a bored kid into a pirate. The whole experience embraces transformation and allows for the realms of impossible to become stories that one can fall into.

And sure, I do want to make this fun. And I will have to work on this on a daily basis. It’s not a hobby. It’s a passion.

“The only way a kid is going to practice is if it’s total fun for him… and it was for me.”
“I wasn’t naturally gifted in terms of size and speed; everything I did in hockey I worked for, and that’s the way I’ll be as a coach.”
Wayne Gretzky


So combine the two. I don’t want to follow the rules and I want to expand my imagination and story telling. I want this to be fun, and I will have to work at this. Will everything I write be gold? Hell no. I expect to make mistakes along the way and learn from them.

If this analogy doesn’t make any sense, maybe it is just for me and not for you. But in the meantime…

I’m still here,
Pearce

Leave a Reply

