NaNoWriMo – Day 7 – Hello, and welcome to day 7.


This weeks evenings have been filled with socializing. I know, the geek gets away from the keyboard, what next???  Wine and Cheese night, didn’t get home till too late. Fun time had by all. Hard day at work due to flupocalypse taking out most of people at work. Thursday spent time with daughter till late, didn’t waste a moment with her.  Again, didn’t get home till late.

Day 7 – Hello, and welcome to day 7.

Typical Saturday, for those of you not in the know, I usually turn into a hobbit when it comes to Saturdays. I start the morning off with coffee and breakfast at Mystic Java with my stepfather around 10am. We debate the world, how lives work, how sex should be meaningful, etc, you get the point. Two hours later, it’s lunch, light snack for myself, and laundry while I’m plotting out story in my head, picking at the draft and forcing a scene. Two oclock in the afternoon, the good fellowship … errr… Loyal Order of Water Buffalo’s meet up at the snooker shack, and since I haven’t put enough in my stomach already, time for dry ribs and poutine. By this time, I put my bloated body towards my parents for burgers and home made potato patties. I finally wave the white flag and I head home to get caught up.

It’s now pushing 1am and insomnia has taken hold. I was thinking that I’d spend an hour and fall behind then spend a good chunk of tomorrow trying to fill content so I don’t miss the deadline/count for NaNoWriMo. I am currently at…. let’s see the grand total….

12,256

That’s 1/4 of the way towards 50’000 words… roughly. So far, it’s been ‘Torture main character’, and I think I can end part 1 of 4 for her story, and work more detail into scenes. But I should plot out the next quarter of story to work on for this week. I’ve put the main character now in a place where she can learn of the world, this will also help, as I’m developing the world as I go along. Not the greatest way to get a novel done, but I’m quite convinced that this won’t see print copy. It will most likely become a 50k outline that I can use to come up with the grocery list for the second, or third draft.

There’s danger. There is planted red herrings in the early story. There’s zombies. There is a foreign army invading. A village is wiped out. Kraken attack. All this and airships too. Now I just have to figure out what to name the Empires/countries.  Then again, I can always leave those minor details for the fourth draft.

Going to try and kick insomnias butt, and if I can’t I’m going to push that word count into mondays requirements.

 

I’m still here,

Pearce

I have not smoked in Two years, three months, one day, 11 hours, 47 minutes and 34 seconds. 9893 cigarettes not smoked. Saving $4,749.07. Life saved: 4 weeks, 6 days, 8 hours, 25 minutes. For more information on nicotine cessation, http://www.quitbuddies.org/SiteMap.html and point your newsgroup reader to alt.support.stop-smoking.

Leave a Reply

