NaNoWriMo – Day 3, and others…


6920 words that I managed to pick out of morning break, lunch and afternoon break at work.

Have a vague indication where I’m going with this, something that I’ve loved for a storyline, and that is the emergence of the hero. Buffy did it best, from a fantasy point of view, Deed of Paksenarrion by Elizabeth Moon did it as well. I keep putting this timid shell shocked young woman in these situations where she shouldn’t be able to do these things, but somehow the future version of her keeps jumping out. So, it’s fantasy theme story wise in that progression, placed in an age of magic and steampunk. Blending the genres will provide for more storylines, as I’m sure I can involve some political intrigue between battling nations/queendoms/empires/free republics.

Even though my word count is ahead of where I need to be this first week, it’s only day 3. I also have appointments pre-booked for the evenings this week. I shouldn’t be blogging this now, but working on the next scene with my hero and her few friends, that remain alive…  So far I’ve managed to shake her entire world by wiping out her community, attacked by a strange foreign army, nearly burned alive by an airship that has gone adrift and is ablaze, and my latest part … placed behind enemy lines. There’s overcoming the odds, then there is silliness. Then again, with all of these events, I sure as hell won’t have a lack of content to write about.

Stepfather has radiation poisoning from his chemo treatments, so they are laying off those while he can get his body back to fighting health for the next round. There is nothing I can do about it, except go do some promotional stuff for fund raising into prostate cancer. But there isn’t any research into this prostate cancer as 99 percent of the time, it shows up only in men aged 85 and up. There is no cure for it, just treatment to keep it in check. He’s in his mid 50’s and has been one of the best things for my mother, and has helped me out a lot during this past year which has been rough. This dying business is tough stuff to live through.

I’m still here,

Pearce

P.S. Been quite a while since I posted up a meter count for myself.

You have quit smoking for:2 years, 12 weeks, 5 days, 13 hours and 47 mins.
You have saved: 4,332.63 Dollars by NOT smoking 9,847 cigarettes!

Don’t know if its the muscles or knots in my back, or if I need to rotate mattress, back is hurting again, probably more time in front of the computer and not enough time stretching. As result, not less sleep, but less quality sleep. Had a smoking dream last night, felt the guilt and woke up, then realized where I was. Haven’t had one of those in quite a while.  Only shows you, it doesn’t go away, I just forget about it longer between these incidents. Which for recovering nicotine addict, its good for me to have these. I think the second that I don’t have that burst of guilt or reminder of what it is, it won’t keep me in line. Maybe it’s my unconcious mind which is bringing this up. I would rather feel guilty in a dream when I smoke and regret it there, than put myself back into the delusional habit of smoking.

Time to breathe deep, and let go of things.

Leave a Reply

